Maritime History Dissertation Prize

Maritime History Dissertation Prize-23
All dissertation submissions must be in the English language.The cover or sheet should include the following: name, professional or home address, email, telephone and name of Ph D granting institution.

Previous winners include Emma Marshall (who won the 2016 Prize) for her dissertation ‘Women’s Domestic Medical Practice, Recipe Writing and Knowledge Networks in Seventeenth-Century England‘.

The judges – Professor Ole Grell of the Open University; Professor Trish Skinner of Swansea University; and Paul Lay, Editor of History Today – thought the dissertation was ‘an outstanding, rigorously researched piece of scholarship, which also managed to be a hugely enjoyable read I am honoured and delighted to accept this award for my undergraduate dissertation from such respected institutions as the Royal Historical Society and History Today magazine.

E-mail all materials to the Dissertation Prize.” Entries must be submitted by 1 October 2019.

Late entries and submissions that do not adhere to these guidelines will be disqualified.

I would like to express my gratitude to my supervisor Dr Cathy Mc Clive, whose generous advice, suggestions and recommendations were invaluable from the start.

Although challenging, I thoroughly enjoyed writing this dissertation, and the experience prepared me well for my current Masters thesis in Early Modern History.

Since 2015, this role has been taken on by Dr Pauline Couper (York St John University).

The following awards have been made: 2018 Prize: Sophie Buckle (University of Bristol) “Writing Between Worlds: An Audiencing of Leanne Simpson’s Stories as Theory for Decolonising Academic Writing Practices” [PDF 1.7MB] 2017 Prize: Hope Steadman (University of Birmingham) “The Neoliberalisation and Responsibilisation of Flood Risk Management in Swindon, UK.” [PDF 3.3MB] 2016 Prize: Mirjami Lantto (University of Glasgow) “Experiencing River Landscapes: the Affective Capacity of Landscapes and its Potential in Environmental Management” [PDF, 5.5MB] Commendation: Samuel Nutt (Durham University) “The Anxieties of Empire in Byron’s Turkish Tales: Exploring the Fiction in Postcolonial Geography” 2015 Prize: Kirsty Matthews (Durham University) “Mattering the Mind: Subjectivity and Not Knowing Within Obsessive Compulsive Disorder” 2014 Prize: Sebastian (University of Oxford) “Propositions for a radically empirical geomorphology” Commendation: Max Kirchner (University of Bristol) “Speaking truth to power: Theorising Edward Snowden’s Whistleblowing through Michel Foucault’s concepts of parrhesia and the event” 2013 Prize: Emily Nash (Queen Mary, University of London) “‘On the Wild Side’: The Geography Collective, public geographies and exploration” 2012 Two Prizes: Emily Foulger (University of Nottingham) “A Woman’s Eye: Isabella Bird Bishop’s travels in the RGS-IBG archives” Matthew Jones (University of Oxford) “Ordering mysteries?

Beyond conflict, Hershenzon discovers that piracy, captivity, and redemption created a system of social and economic connections through which agents from both civilizations and diverse social and cultural backgrounds shaped an integrated Mediterranean region. On a three-year rotation, the Association offers a prize for the best dissertation, the best early career article, and best first book.

The book is exceptionally well researched with information extracted from a variety of unknown documents, many displaying astonishing personal experiences of the captives. Applications are solicited each fall and the award is made the following spring, with an honorarium of 0.


Comments Maritime History Dissertation Prize

The Latest from ©